# CITY COUNCIL MINUTES ADJOURNED REGULAR MEETING

Wednesday, July 9, 2003 7:00 PM

# ADVISORY BODY INTERVIEWS & APPOINTMENTS: YOUTH COMMISSION

MEETING LOCATION: PASO ROBLES LIBRARY/CITY HALL CONFERENCE CENTER, 1000 SPRING STREET

## CALL TO ORDER

**ROLL CALL** Councilmembers George Finigan, Jim Heggarty, Gary Nemeth, Duane Picanco and Mayor Frank Mecham

#### PUBLIC COMMENTS - None

## 1. Interviews & Appointments - Youth Commission

B. Partridge, Library & Recreation Services Director

Interview following applicants and make appointments to the Youth Commission.

Alexandra Solorio Abarca David Benitez Maria Cervantes Adi Cisneros Nick Eidemiller Christina Escobar (incumbent) Alli Harrod Phillip Horlings Rochelle Knapp Julie Anne Maravillas Rebecca Joynt Juanita Martinez Sandra Smith (incumbent) Sarah Smith Jonathan Spencer (incumbent) Marisa Spong Tobin Streamland

## • ALTERNATIVE 1

10 vacancies - 17 applicants — <u>8 regular 2-year terms</u> expiring July 1, 2005 and <u>2 alternate terms\*</u>: one 2-year term expiring July 1, 2005, and one 1-year term expiring July 1, 2004 (to fill an unexpired term).

\*If J. Spencer (currently holding a 2<sup>nd</sup> alternate position with a term expiring July 1, 2004) is appointed to a regular position, then appointments would be as follows:

#### • ALTERNATIVE 2

11 vacancies - 17 applicants — <u>8 regular 2-year terms</u> expiring July 1, 2005 and <u>3 alternate terms</u>: one 2-year alternate term expiring July 1, 2005, and two 1-year alternate terms expiring July 1, 2004 (to fill unexpired terms).

Mayor Mecham opened the public hearing. There were no comments from the public, either written or oral, and the public discussion was closed.

It was noted for the record that Alexandra Abarca withdrew her application for appointment.

Councilmember Nemeth, seconded by Councilmember Heggarty, moved to appoint the following applicants to <u>regular 2-year terms expiring July 1, 2005</u>:

David Benitez Christina Escobar (incumbent) Phillip Horlings Sandra Smith (incumbent) Nick Eidemiller Alli Harrod Rebecca Joynt Jonathan Spencer (incumbent alternate)

and Rachelle Knapp <u>as an alternate to a 2-year term expiring July 1, 2005</u>; and Adi Cisneros and Tobin Streamland <u>as alternates to 1-year terms expiring July 1, 2004</u> (to fill the unexpired terms of Jonathan Spencer and Christina Escobar).

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

#### By general consensus, Council adjourned from regular session at 8:55 PM.

#### ADJOURNMENT: to THE REGULAR CITY COUNCIL MEETING AT 7:30 PM ON TUESDAY, JULY 15, 2003, AT THE LIBRARY/CITY HALL CONFERENCE CENTER, 1000 SPRING STREET.

Submitted:

Sharilyn M. Ryan, Deputy City Clerk Approved:

#### THESE MINUTES ARE NOT OFFICIAL OR A PERMANENT PART OF THE RECORDS UNTIL APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL AT THE NEXT REGULAR MEETING.